IPL 2021 – Indian Premier League 2021 | Schedule, Dates

Cricket IPL

The 2021 Indian Premier League, also known as Vivo IPL 2021, or IPL 14, for sponsorship reasons, is the fourteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The IPL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. It was played in India from 9 April to 3 May 2021 before being postponed. Mumbai Indians are two-time defending champions. They have won the last two (2019 and 2020) seasons. On 17 February 2021, the Kings XI Punjab franchise announced that the name of the team had been changed to Punjab Kings, and also released a new logo.

On 4 May 2021, following an increase in COVID-19 cases within the teams’ bio bubble, the tournament was postponed indefinitely.[6][7][8] While postponing, out of 60 matches scheduled 31 still had to be played. On 29 May 2021, the BCCI announced that the remaining matches of the tournament would be played in the United Arab Emirates in September and October 2021.

background | 2021 Indian Premier League

Although earlier reports suggested the addition of two more teams in the season, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced at its 89th AGM that there would be no additional teams for this season and the addition of two new teams would be only Should be in 2022.

On 30 January 2021, the BCCI confirmed that they were confident of hosting the tournament in India. He also said that the UAE was not being considered as a backup destination. By the end of February, the BCCI was considering hosting the tournament in some of the shortlisted cities, which included Kolkata, Delhi, Bangalore, Ahmedabad and Chennai with Mumbai as an additional option.

On 7 March 2021, the BCCI announced the full schedule for the season. Six venues, including all five shortlisted venues and additional substitute Mumbai, were earmarked to host matches. To avoid a home advantage, no team is scheduled to play at its home venue. The season will begin on April 9 and conclude with the final on May 30 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The BCCI also confirmed that the tournament will be played behind closed doors. However, after a sudden spike in cases in India, the BCCI added Hyderabad as a backup venue.

2021 Indian Premier League | player change

The uncontracted players were announced on 20 January 2021. Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Glenn Maxwell were prominent names among the uncontracted players. The most expensive Indian player Piyush Chawla was also released in the 2020 auction.

The players’ auction was held in Chennai on 18 February 2021. [23] 1,097 cricketers registered for the auction, including 186 players of international caps. [24] The most expensive player in the auction was Chris Morris, who was bought by Rajasthan Royals. Bought for ₹16.25 crore (US$2.37 million). [25] The most expensive Indian player was Krishnappa Gautam, who was bought by Chennai Super Kings for ₹9.25 crore (US$1.35 million).

On 10 March 2021, Royal Challengers Bangalore replaced Josh Phillippe with Finn Allen, as Josh Philippe withdrew from the tournament due to personal reasons. On 30 March 2021, Delhi Capitals confirmed that their captain Shreyas Iyer had been ruled out of the tournament due to a shoulder injury. Rishabh Pant was named the captain of Delhi in his absence. Iyer was replaced by Anirudh Joshi. On 31 March 2021, Mitchell Marsh of Hyderabad withdrew from the tournament due to personal reasons; Jason Roy was taken in his place in the Sunrisers team. A day later, Chennai’s Jose Hazlewood withdrew from the tournament citing the same reason. Jason Behrendorff was named as his replacement.

covid-19 effect

Due to the deteriorating COVID-19 situation in India, many players withdrew from the tournament. After the Chennai leg of the tournament, Ravichandran Ashwin left the Delhi Capitals bubble to “support the family” during the pandemic. On 3 May 2021, the scheduled match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore was postponed after two players tested positive for COVID-19. Three members of the Chennai Super Kings camp – including their bowling coach Lakshmipathy Balaji – tested positive. Later on the same day, all Delhi Capitals team went into quarantine. Similarly, Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad did not participate in their pre-match practice session on May 4. As a result, the BCCI was considering hosting the remaining matches of the tournament in Mumbai.

On 4 May 2021, the Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals match, scheduled for 5 May 2021, was also postponed due to the Chennai players being in quarantine.[40] Later on the same day, Wriddhiman Saha of Hyderabad and Delhi K Amit Mishra’s Kovid-19 test was found positive. On 4 May 2021, the season was postponed indefinitely. 40 Australian players, support staff and commentators are set to leave for the Maldives from India as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak. On 5 May 2021, Michael Hussey, Chennai’s batting coach, became the first foreigner to test positive. The next day, a group of English counties offered to host the remainder of the tournament in England in September 2021. The BCCI was looking at the possibility of holding the remaining matches before or after the T20 World Cup, in September or November 2021.

IPL fixtures 2021: Full Indian Premier League schedule, dates

Sunday, September 19: Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians (Dubai 6pm)

Monday, September 20: Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers Bangalore (Abu Dhabi, 6pm)

Tuesday, September 21: Punjab Kings v Rajasthan Royals (Dubau, 6pm)

Wednesday, September 22: Delhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad (Dubai, 6pm)

Thursday, September 23: Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders (Abu Dhabi, 6pm)

Friday, September 24: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Chennai Super Kings (Sharjah, 6pm)

Saturday, September 25: Delhi Capitals v Rajasthan Royals (Abu Dhabi, 2pm), Sunrisers Hyderabad v Punjab Kings (Sharjah, 2pm)

Sunday, September 26: Chennai Super Kings v Kolkata Knight Riders (Abu Dhabi, 2pm), Royal Challengers Bangalore v Mumbai Indians (Dubai, 6pm)

Monday, September 27: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Rajasthan Royals (Dubai, 6pm)

Tuesday, September 28: Kolkata Knight Riders v Delhi Capitals (Sharjah, 2pm), Mumbai Indians v Punjab Kings (Abu Dhabi, 6pm)

Wednesday, September 29: Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers Bangalore (Dubai, 6pm)

Thursday, September 30: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Chennai Super Kings (Sharjah, 6pm)

Friday, October 1: Kolkata Knight Riders v Punjab Kings (Dubai, 6pm)

Saturday, October 2: Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals (Sharjah, 2pm), Rajasthan Royals v Chennai Super Kings (Abu Dhabi, 6pm)

Sunday, October 3: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Punjab Kings (Sharjah, 2pm), Kolkata Knight Riders v Sunrisers Hyderabad (Dubai, 6pm)

Monday, October 4: Delhi Capitals v Chennai Super Kings (Dubai, 6pm)

Tuesday, October 5: Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians (Sharjah, 6pm)

Wednesday, October 6: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad (Abu Dhabi, 6pm)

Thursday, October 7: Chennai Super Kings v Punjab Kings (Dubai, 2pm), Kolkata Knight Riders v Rajasthan Royals (Sharjah, 6pm)

Friday, October 8: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians (Abu Dhabi, 2pm), Royal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Capitals (Dubai, 6pm)

Sunday, October 10: Qualifier 1 (Dubai, 6pm)

Monday, October 11: Eliminator (Sharjah, 6pm)

Wednesday, October 13: Qualifier 2 (Sharjah, 6pm)

Friday, October 15: Final (Dubai, 6pm)

Also Read :: cowin gov in – 18 साल के पुरुषों के लिए कोविड वैक्सीन पंजीकरण लिंक और प्रक्रिया

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *